PBA Home Peacock Bass Fishing Forum Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

Peacock Bass Fishing Forum Forum Index » Fishing Destinations & Habitats » Peacock Virgin
Peacock Virgin 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:26 pm Reply with quote
Dave Mariani
Looking to hear from other anglers and not agents. This is my first time planning a trip for Peacock Bass or fishing for them, and I was hoping to get recommendations on where to go(river) and with what outfitter? Also what month to go. I am planning a first trip for a group of us and am really at a loss of where to go for huge peacock bass. It seems I hear something different from each outfitter I talk to. Any help or nudge in the right direction would be greatly appreciated I would hate to plan a bad trip and have my buddies hate me for it.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 6:13 pm Reply with quote
Bobby W. Foster
PBA Moderator
Hello Dave and welcome to the world of Peacock Bass Fishing. If you could give the forum a little more information such as what kind of operation you want to fish. You have land base lodges, floating mobile small barges, and what I call mother ships that also move from day to day to keep you in different areas. Are your fishing buddies experienced anglers or novice. What kind of numbers per day would you expect to catch. Some areas produce higher numbers and other produce the larger fish. What time of the season do you expect to fish. A lot of the fishing in the beginning of the season takes place south of Manaus which usually produces high numbers. As the conditions dictate the fishing moves to the north of Manaus to the tributaries of the Rio Negro. I suggest you invest in some books on this great fish, they will really help you. I invested in Larry Larsen's series of books when I first started and still read them before a trip. When you answer some of these questions it will help give us an idea where to point you.

Bobby Foster

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:00 am Reply with quote